Reply To: Re: 2012 Quest LE

New Topics Forums General Discussion 2011 Nissan Quest New 2012 quest LE Reply To: Re: 2012 Quest LE

magdalo
Participant

Hi!

I am also new to this website but I am not a newbie when it comes to CVTs. I first drove a CVT with my 2011 Nissan Rouge SV. I have been driving manual transmissions all my life but had to settle for an automatic so that my wife can drive too.
Before buying the Rouge, I did all my research. I heard about the engine drone and some other stuff but overall I liked the Rogue compared to its rivals. The CVT on my Rogue did cause engine drone at high acceration and was a bit slow to pick up speed. However, it was very fuel efficient and quiet once I learned how to adjust my driving styles and appreciate the CVT to my advantage. The CVT is not designed for regular 0-60 MPH tests, instead it is designed for smooth and gearless shifting compared against conventional automatics. Moreover, I noticed there is a CVT lag, especially in cold winter mornings. This was remedied by simply warming up the vehicle and waiting for the gauge to hit pass the cold level.
Now, my second experience with a CVT is with my current 2013 Nissan Quest SV. It was with a heavy heart that we had to trade-in our Rouge last January 2013 because we welcomed our second child. I noticed that the CVT is more compatible with the Quest’s V6 engine because there’s no more engine drone and its more smoother. However, fuel consumption is disappointing at an average of 12 miles per gallon in Chicago driving conditions this winter. How much is your average?