depax 2007 quest

New Topics Forums General Discussion Wheel and Tire depax 2007 quest

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Crimson 6 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

trevor

I have the same problem as everyone else with the pax system. I want out of it. (I am a novice at this and need specifics please).

-what size wheels do I need to go to? (they are 19″ now)
    -I have heard 17″ but will that mean I also need my speedometer to be recalibrated?
    -Can I get rims from an infinity vehicle and put them on my van? (someone is telling me to do that). The source is a salvage yard nearby.
    -Are wheel center caps interchangeable on these vehicles? Do you think I could remove my old rim center caps and put them on the new wheel?
    -would I need new lug nuts?
    -do I need a new specific type of sensor for the new wheels and who/how much is it to to recalibrate those?
    -do I need to be concerned about my new wheel fitting over the calipers and brakes?
    -will this void my warranty?

please help
    thanks

Crimson
    Participant

Hi Trevor,

I de-PAXed my car in December. You can get wheels from 17-19 inches (maybe even a bit bigger). The speedometer and odometer do not need to be re-calibrated because the tires you buy will be the same diameter as the old tires.

You can get ANY rims that are the same lug pattern (5×114.3). Personally, I purchased some used wheels (I think they’re 18″) that had come from a Nissan Murano and they work great.

You have two choices on the TPMS sensors:
    1- pay an authorized PAX dealer to remove the sensors from your old tires/wheels. This cost me $19 per tire from a Discount Tire.
    2- buy new sensors for about $75 each.