Timing Belt Change

This topic contains 5 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  prgonzalez 6 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

michaellong
    Participant

Hello,

I have been working on a 1999 Nissan Quest to replace the water pump and timing belt. I have tried aligning the timing marks but the cam that is closest to the firewall keeps bouncing out of time. I have put on this belt 5 times and the car either didn’t start or idled rough and would not go over 1500 rpm at full throttle. Can you give me some tips on what you guys did to change your timing belts? This is my first time changing a timing belt and I am glad that this is a non-interference engine.

Thanks!

prgonzalez
    Participant

Hi Michael,

First question: Do you have the service manual of the van?

Second: you will have to open the belt again to double check the cam positions and belt alignment with cams and crank. I have done this change twice already and the procedure is straight forward when you follow the service manual.

If you need the service manual, you can download it from wwww.nicoclub.com.

Yes, it is a good thing this is non-interference engine. Thus, you have not done any damage to the pistons and valves.

Does your new belt have the white line marks for belt alignment confirmation?

michaellong
    Participant

Yes, the new belt does have the white lines but I wasn’t sure how to use them. I do not have the service manual for the car. The car belongs to my friend’s mother-in-law and I am doing this repair for free. I am really glad I had my dad get a mechanic to change his 2005 Honda Pilot timing belt since that car has an interference engine. I will go to Nicoclub and look for that service manual.

prgonzalez
    Participant

The service manual explains how to use the white line marks of the belt to correctly align the cams and crankshaft. I believe that is where your problem is. You could be one tooth off in one, two, or all of them.