Winter Tire Recommendations

New Topics Forums General Discussion Wheel and Tire Winter Tire Recommendations

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  ontknow 10 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

flexbert

Hi all. I am new to the Quest (’06 SE, picked it up last week).

The stock tires (Goodyear Eagle LS2, 225 60 R17) seem to have a pretty poor rap and I would like to get a set of winter tires and rims for my QUEST (I am in Nova Scotia, Canada). My preference is to go down a size in rims and to a narrower profile tire. After some internet searching, it seems that a 215 70 R16 is the closest to maintaining overall tire diameter.

I’ll admit that I am just starting to search, so I haven’t done the rounds to see what is available locally, nor have checked with the dealer to see what they offer/recommend. Any suggestions ?

How does the TPM work in the Quest and can I make it work with a set of steel rims ? A look at tirerack.com indicates “Your vehicle is equipped with a tire pressure monitoring system that requires a sensor to be installed in the tire and wheel assembly for proper operation.” tirerack.com also indicates that “NOTE: The original sensors from your original wheels can be used or you may purchase new sensors. At this time, The Tire Rack does not have sensors available for your vehicle.”

flexbert

After some research, both online and locally, I decided to go with a set of Michelin Latitude X-Ice tires, size 215 70 R16, with a set of steel rims. I purchased them at Costco, mounted and balanced and they are now ready to be installed on the van once the colder weather hits.